Eucharistic Revival

“What the world needs is God’s love; it needs to encounter Christ and to believe in him. The Eucharist is thus the source and summit not only of the Church’s life, but also of her mission.”- Sacramentum Caritatis, #84

Over the next three years, every Catholic diocese, parish, school, apostolate, and family is invited to be a part of renewing the Church by enkindling a living relationship with the Lord Jesus Christ in the Holy Eucharist.

Why a Eucharistic Revival?

For some time now, a major concern of the bishops has been the declining belief in and lack of understanding of the Eucharist among the Catholic faithful. The document “The Mystery of the Eucharist in the Life of the Church,” which was approved by the full body of bishops in November 2021, serves as a foundation for the Eucharistic Revival.

The U.S. Bishops felt that the Church in the United States, particularly right now, needs (1) healing, (2) unity, (3) formation, and (4) sending. The Eucharist, as the “source and summit of the Christian life”, especially in the context of the Mass, is uniquely capable of being an “efficacious sign of grace” (CCC 1130) to all those ends.

What is the general vision?

  • Foster encounters with Jesus through kerygmatic proclamation and experiences of Eucharistic devotion.
  • Contemplate and proclaim the doctrine of the Real Presence of Jesus in the Eucharist through the Truth of our teaching, Beauty of our worship, and Goodness of a life of service.
  • Empower grassroots creativity by partnering with movements, apostolates, parishes, and educational institutions.
  • Reach the smallest unit: parish small groups and families.
  • Embrace and learn from the various rich intercultural Eucharistic traditions.
  • Train, send, and accompany more than 100,000 Eucharistic missionaries.

What is the timeline?

During each phase of the three-year process, we will engage partnerships with ministries, apostolates, and catechetical organizations to animate events at the local level and provide formation and resources for all ages and stages of faith.

  • Year of Diocesan Revival (June 19, 2022 – July 11, 2023). This first year of the Revival invites diocesan staff, bishops, and priests to respond to the Lord’s personal invitation and equips them to share this love with the faithful through Eucharistic congresses and events.
  • Year of Parish Revival (June 11, 2023 – July 17, 2024). The second phase will foster Eucharistic devotion at the parish level, strengthening our liturgical life through faithful celebration of the Mass, Eucharistic Adoration, missions, resources, preaching, and organic movements of the Holy Spirit.
  • National Eucharistic Congress (July 17 – 21, 2024). At this historic event, more than 80,000 Catholics of all ages will gather in Indianapolis to reconsecrate their hearts to the source and summit of our faith.

Our Diocesan Logo

This logo was commissioned by the Catholic Diocese of Cleveland to recognize the convergence of three major events: our participation in Pope Francis’ Synod on Synodality, our partaking in the National Eucharistic Revival, and the joyful celebration of our 175th anniversary as a diocese.


  • At the center of this simple yet striking dichromatic image are the host and the chalice, symbolizing the Eucharist – the Body, Blood, Soul, and Divinity of Jesus Christ – the source and summit of our lives as Catholic Christians. Bold, striking rays pour out from behind the host, symbolic of the inexhaustible grace that flows at every Eucharistic liturgy – grace that turns sinners into saints.
  • The wide chalice is modeled after a 6th / 7th century Byzantine chalice housed at the Cleveland Museum of Art, and the image decorating the cup-portion of the chalice is taken from the logo of the Synod on Synodality; it is the Church walking together on mission.
  • At the base of the chalice are the letters “CLXXV,” which at first glance may appear to be some strange iteration of “CLEVELAND,” but in fact represent the Roman numerals for “175,” designating the 175th anniversary of our diocese.
  • Framing the host, chalice, and rays is a square with a Jerusalem-type cross in each corner, crosses that are taken from our diocesan crest. Four words – GATHERED, BLESSED, BROKEN, SHARED – remind us of our Eucharistic identity as the People of God, whose lives take on their fullest meaning only when we give them away in sacrificial love.
  • Finally, the beautiful blue tone serves as a subtle reminder of the Blessed Virgin Mary, the one who constantly and lovingly encourages us, “Do whatever He tells you.” (Jn. 2:5)