Sacraments Overview

Christ instituted the sacraments of the new law. There are seven: Baptism, Confirmation (or Chrismation), the Eucharist, Penance, the Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders and Matrimony. The seven sacraments touch all the stages and all the important moments of Christian life: 1 they give birth and increase, healing and mission to the Christian’s life of faith. (Catechism of the Catholic Church #1210)

To learn about the seven sacraments and how to access them for yourself or someone else, please click on the links below:

Three Sacraments of Initiation


Two Sacraments of Healing

Anointing of the Sick

Two Sacraments of Service

Holy Orders

Of these seven sacraments, “the Eucharist occupies a unique place…. all the other sacraments are ordered to it as to their end.” Adapted from the Catechism of the Catholic Church #1210-1211

These sacraments, instituted by Christ, are powerful sources of God’s grace. If you or a family member need/wish to receive a particular sacrament, please click on the appropriate link. If you need more information, please call the parish office 216-252-2332.